Bram Stoker Awards: 2012


Since 1987, the Horror Writer's Association has handed out the Bram Stoker Award for superior achievement in several categories of horror. By rewarding superior achievement, instead of the best novel, the HWA intended to make ties in a category possible.

This year they handed out the awards during a Saturday, June 15, 2013, at the annual Bram Stoker Award banquet at the World Horror Convention which was held in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Besides awarding the authors of some of the best horror books published last year, they also gave out special recognition awards.

Robert R. McCammon and Clive Barker both received the Lifetime Achievement Award which is "presented to individuals whose entire body of work has substantially influenced Horror."

The Specialty Press Award was awarded to Jerad Walters of Centipede Press.

Charles Day won The Silver Hammer Award.

James Chambers won the President’s Richard Laymon Service Award.


Missing Titles:

Nominated for the 2012 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in Short Fiction.

"Surrounded by the Mutant Rain Forest" by Bruce Boston (Daily Science Fiction)

"Available Light" by John Palisano (Lovecraft eZine, March 2012)

Winner of the 2013 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Screenplay.

"The Cabin in the Woods" by Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard

Nominated for the 2012 Bram Stoker Award for Superior Achievement in a Screenplay.

"The Woman in Black" by Jane Goldman

"Killer Within" by Sang Kyu Kim for The Walking Dead

"Dark Cousin" by Tim Minear for American Horror Story: Asylum

"The Hunger Games" by Gary Ross, Suzanne Collins, and Billy Ray


The Bram Stoker Awards started in 1987, this is the 26th year for this award.

After you've seen the sights in this book list, you might want to view the Bram Stoker Award winners and nominees from other years. To make it easy, use the links below to jump to those lists:

Bram Stoker Awards: 2017, --|-- Bram Stoker Awards: 2016,

Bram Stoker Awards: 2015, --|-- Bram Stoker Awards: 2014,

Bram Stoker Awards: 2013, --|-- Bram Stoker Awards: 2012,

Bram Stoker Awards: 2011, --|-- Bram Stoker Awards: 2010,

Bram Stoker Awards: 2009, --|-- Bram Stoker Awards: 2008,

If you have any suggestions, feel free to mention them in the discussion section below the list.

This book list is now complete -- no more titles will be added. Published 3/12/2015.

Updated: 2/11/2018 Added a link to the new booklist 'Bram Stoker Awards: 2017'.

-- Gregory Fisher, Riffle Horror Editor and Undead Rat

Source: From a list of 2012 HWA Bram Stoker Award nominees and winners at the Horror Writers Association website.